White Crow

May 18, 2012

I enjoy writing; the blank page, the images in my mind, the search for clarity and brevity and wit–the entire process as I wait to hear a true sentence arrive.

Hear, yes– and not read, because for me, beautiful as a completed page can be, writing starts with mental imagery which becomes a sound, and that sound then is formed word by word into a sentence.

After all, before writing there were stories and story tellers who relied only on memory and wit, not reading a script, and their telling led to listening and memorization becoming essential skillsets, so that even today the well-remembered stories for me are most often those I first heard, and which I now read aloud for my family and friends.

Here is an example

White Crow 120518 (A short story audio file, mp3)

Leave a Reply

