“I will enter you as hope enters me,   
through blinding liquid, light of rain, and I   
will stay inside until you send me out;   
I will stay inside until you ground me.   
We cannot outrun the rain.   So many   
summers I have tried.   So many summers.   
But when the rumble calls after the spark   
there can be no escape.   No outstripping   
the drench soak, the wet sheath, the water caul.   
This is more than you want to hear.   Much more   
than I want to tell you.   Tabernacle   
transporting my life from the desert, you,   
the faith I am born and reborn into,   
you, rescuer, deliverer of rain.”~“Ark, by Camille Dungy

with pranams for theferocity:

This is more than you want to hear.   Much more  
than I want to tell you.  

guyatree adds: “Perfect poem for this image, theferocity— thanks!”

Leave a Reply

